Morph Controllers

wew! So I finally managed to make spline controllers for my morph targets. they work and everything!
oddly enough there are not many tutes out there on how to do this. but I finally found some, so yay me! or more yay for the person who did the tute. so yay someone!

This rig is for facial movement, during my research of facial movement I found about 4 different ways that people use controllers for facial movement, all of them seem useful depending on a few variables such as the detail on your model or the size of it.
however I stuck with spline controllers, partly because I am stubborn,  but also because I think it fits my model the best out of any I could find.

Spline_Controllers
This Image shows all the controllers, some of them being used, and I will post a video up at some point of a facial test animation to see how good it all looks going to extremes. maybe after I have rigged the body as well.

This rig uses a morph target system to move the face and jaw around. It is controlled by setting the wire parameters of splines to control the morph targets and the % it uses from each or if it uses any at all.
There are many rigs that use this system as it is simple for use and allows animators to get work done with ease. One such rig is the ‘Max’ rig from the 11 second club. I have also found some other rigs that use the same or similar systems and put in images below.
While I have heard of faster ways to get rigs set up, or more simple ways this system seems to be used a fair bit more.

Oxford dictionary defines user friendly as “Easy to use or understand”, Webster dictionary describes it as easy to learn, use, understand, or deal with. With this in mind, the rig is designed for simplicity and ease of use, simply by looking at it one can see all the basic controllers needed and how they effect the face and which part. although this does assume that the user has some basic understanding of 3D programs.

References:

Hawking, S. (2000). Professor Stephen Hawking’s website. Retrieved 9 February, 2009, from http://www.hawking.org.uk/

Hawking, S. (2000). Professor Stephen Hawking’s website. Retrieved 9 February, 2009, from http://www.hawking.org.uk/

Images:

Zworksnet. (2015). Zworksnet. Retrieved 2 December, 2015, from http://zworks.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/04/cat_gremlin1_by_foxhound1984-d6l0q4o-1000×345.jpg

Mixamocom. (2015). Mixamocom. Retrieved 2 December, 2015, from https://community.mixamo.com/hc/en-us/article_attachments/201157508/9_FacialRig.jpg

Leave a Reply

